Facility-Wide Plant Information System

The goal of Solvay Chemicals was to establish a complete  scalable solution for management, analysis and data provision, which could be integrated in the existing IT landscape. A central geo-data server for canal, electricity, water and gas networks was implemented to help secure the production workflows at Solvay.

The Solution

GEONIS was conceived as a scalable enterprise information system that would provide access from one repository to all spatial data and related services. The central geo-database where all geographical and attribute data, as well as their metadata and object descriptions are stored, is based on Microsoft SQL Server. All client products were virtualized and clients given access over Windows Terminal Server.

Added Value

The central data repository and the use of GIS enable a vastly better access to information, for various departments. The GEONIS framework offers a wide range of sophisticated templates in addition to its standard solutions. With these GIS solutions and resources innumerable spatially-related questions can be addressed.

 Solvay Plant Information System Screenshot

Customer Testimonial:
"Joining various aspects of plan information in one information system proved to be the best way for us. We clearly achieved out goals of making work processes transparent to the relevant authorities as well as to internal departments."

Thomas Meier, Head of Structural Engineering - Solvay Chemicals GmbH

Système universel d'information sur les infrastructures

L’objectif de la société Solvay Chemicals GmbH était de mettre en place une solution globale évolutive de gestion, d’analyse et d’information qui devait s’intégrer à l’environnement informatique existant.

Les données d’infrastructure nécessaires à la production, notamment les réseaux de conduites, électrique, d’eau et de gaz, devaient être transférées à un serveur de données géographiques centralisé.

La solution

GEONIS a été conçu comme système d'information d'entreprise évolutif qui met à disposition les données géoréférencées et tous les services et connexions sur site qui en dépendent par l'intermédiaire d'un serveur central de données géographiques. La banque de données géographiques centrale, dans laquelle sont enregistrées toutes les données techniques, de géométrie, métadonnées, ainsi que les données de description d'objet, est basée sur Microsoft SQL Server. Tous les produits sont visualisés, et les clients sont gérés via Windows Terminal Server.

La plus-value

L'entreposage central des données et l'utilisation du système d'information GEONIS permettent d'améliorer la disponibilité des données, un avantage mis à profit dans différents domaines. Outre les modules d'application classiques, l'environnement GEONIS offre un grand nombre de modèles au point qui permettent de répondre à une multitude de questions liées à l'espace.

Solvay Plant Information System Screenshot

Commentaire du client:
« Le regroupement de plans les plus divers dans un système d’information central a fait ses preuves. L’objectif visé, c’est-à-dire la simplification significative de la conservation d’informations pour l’administration d’une part et des services internes d’autre part, a été clairement atteint. »

Thomas Meier, Directeur du service Technique de construction - Solvay Chemicals GmbH