System- and Data Migration

Stadtwerke Lübeck GmbH (Luebeck Municipal Utility) is the most important energy provider in the zone around Luebeck, between Holstein and Mecklenburg, in Northern Germany.


In 2011 Luebeck migrated their old GIS (PARIS 3) to a new GEONIS system, with applications in the areas of electricity, gas, water and district heating. Along with the new implementation came a far-reaching integration with systems such as SAP and IS-U.

The Solution

The data- and system integration not only carried over older functionality from the previous system, but also laid the groundwork for fullfiling the utility’s future requirements. They include, among other, the generation of overview plans, schema diagrams and flood simulations using digital elevation models, as well as comprehensive reports for the Federal Network Agency.

Added Value

Thanks to the introduction of GEONIS it is now possible to execute installation and network planning in flood situations using 3D digital elevation models. The high level of data integration very efficiently supports the various processes between SAP, archive software, workforce management and GIS.
Above and beyond that, the ArcGIS technology’s ability to create spatial intersections offers comprehensive opportunity to optimize supply network reports.
Stadtwerke Lübeck GIS screenshot
Customer Testimonial: 
"Thanks to GEONIS we now have a modern GIS in operation, helping us to be better prepared for the challenges of the future. (...) „

Frank Johannsen, Project Manager Stadtwerke Lübeck

Migration de système SIG et de données

La société Stadtwerke Lübeck GmbH est la plus grande entreprise de distribution d’énergie de l’espace économique de la ville hanséatique de Lübeck, entre les régions du Holstein et du Mecklembourg.

En 2011, elle a remplacé l’ancien SIG (PARIS 3) par le nouveau système GEONIS, avec les modules spécialisés Électro, Gaz, Eau et Chauffage à distance. À cette occasion, une intégration système importante dans SAP PM et IS-U, notamment, a été également été réalisée.

La solution

La migration des données et du système a consisté à transférer les anciennes fonctions vers une plateforme technologique SIG moderne. Les services publics sont ainsi équipés pour relever les défis de demain. Il s'agit notamment de l'établissement de cartes thématiques, de la génération de plans d'ensemble, de la génération de plans schématiques, des simulations d'inondations basées sur le modèle numérique de terrain, ainsi que de la création des nombreux rapports requis par l'Agence fédérale des réseaux.

La plus-value

Grâce à l’introduction de GEONIS, il est désormais possible de planifier les installations et les réseaux au moyen de simulations d’inondations sur la base des données modélisées de terrain en 3D. L’intégration des données prend en charge les processus entre SAP, le logiciel d’archivage, l’outil de gestion de la main-d’œuvre et le SIG. 
Par ailleurs et grâce aux intersections de surface, la technologie ArcGIS offre de nombreuses possibilités d’optimisation des rapports sur les réseaux de distribution.
Stadtwerke Lübeck GIS screenshot
Commentaire du client:
« Avec GEONIS, nous disposons d’un SIG moderne qui nous permettra de relever les défis de demain. (...) »

Frank Johannsen, chef de projet SW Lübeck