VertiGIS eGuide – Interactive Information for a Smart City

The solution for digital information displays

VertiGIS eGuide is an interactive information solution, which has been developed for large-format touchscreens, which you would find at information panels in airports, stations, hotels and central locations. VertiGIS eGuide is digital signage software, with which local information can be effortlessly displayed on interactive information displays.

The fields of use are diverse. As such, digital city maps, tourist information or maps of shopping malls can be represented, on which special “points of interest” such as tourist attractions, restaurants, shops or similar are highlighted. Calculating the distance from the location to the desired point rounds off the information. In addition to maps, VertiGIS eGuide displays event information, district information or departure times of public transport.

The content can be freely defined. With this integral platform, residents and visitors can always be provided with the latest information.

VertiGIS eGuide transforms traditional information panels into digital information systems

  • Local information
  • Interactive usage
  • Multilingual
  • Barrier-free
  • Efficient updating
  • Central data storage
  • Financed through advertisements

VertiGIS eGuide enables you to respond faster than with the classic billboard and paves the way to the future of the Smart City.

Digital, interactive map

Using an interactive map, local location information can be displayed and searched. This information can be clearly represented in categories and stored with any data, such as opening times, images, videos or QR codes. Calculating the distance from the location to the desired point and transmitting details to mobile devices rounds off the information.

Local information

On the welcome page, any information, such as event information, district information, emergency instructions, etc. is displayed.Residents and visitors can find information on offers, transmit this information to their mobile device and be guided to such a location.

The integration of real-time information from the Internet, such as departure times of local public transport or further information and displaying videos is possible. Content can be changed in no time at all. As such, current information on the POI (Point of Information) and POS (Point of Sale) can be updated and represented at any time.

Interactive usage

The software was developed for touchscreens. Indeed, simple and intuitive operation is provided by touching the screen, offering a visual and interactive experience. Large-format panels as well as conventional touchscreen computers, e.g. in the hotel lobby, can be used as terminal devices.

Multilingual and barrier-free

If local information is available in several languages, the language can be switched with VertiGIS eGuide. The application offers the option for operation at a restricted height so that even persons with physical impairments can effectively use the application.

Central data storage and efficient updating

VertiGIS eGuide manages its data in a central management system, which enables use on various media (information panels, website, etc.). The content can be manually maintained in a web-based application or updated by REST interfaces from other systems. Spatial information is available for other applications such as location maps, apps, printed maps, etc.

Where possible – VertiGIS eGuide stores its data – offline. With this in mind, VertiGIS eGuide offers extremely high performance and is prepared in the case of interruption to the network.

Financed through advertisements

On one side, the digital advertisement is played, on the other side you will find VertiGIS eGuide with an interactive town map with local information. By combining the page with an advertisement, financing of the infrastructure and operation of the interactive information is possible in the public domain.

VertiGIS eGuide - Interaktive Auskunft für die Smart City

Die Lösung für digitale Infodisplays

VertiGIS eGuide ist eine interaktive Auskunftslösung, die für grossformatige Touchscreens entwickelt wurde, wie man sie von Informations-Stelen auf Flughäfen, Bahnhöfen, Hotels und zentralen Plätzen kennt. VertiGIS eGuide ist eine Digital Signage Software, mit der auf einfache Art und Weise lokale Informationen auf interaktiven Infodisplays angezeigt wird.

Die Einsatzmöglichkeiten sind vielfältig. So können digitale Stadtpläne, Touristeninformationen oder Pläne von Einkaufszentren dargestellt werden, auf denen spezielle “Points of Interest” wie Sehenswürdigkeiten, Restaurants, Geschäfte oder Ähnliches vermerkt sind. Die Berechnung des Fusswegs vom Standort zum gewünschten Ziel rundet die Information ab. Neben Karten zeigt VertiGIS eGuide Veranstaltungshinweise, Quartierinformationen oder Abfahrtszeiten des öffentlichen Verkehrs an.

Die Inhalte sind frei definierbar. Mit dieser integralen Plattform kann Bürgern und Besuchern stets aktuelle Informationen zur Verfügung gestellt werden.

VertiGIS eGuide transformiert traditionelle Informationstafeln in digitale Informationssysteme

  • Lokale Informationen
  • Interaktive Nutzung
  • Mehrsprachigkeit
  • Barrierefreiheit
  • Effiziente Nachführung
  • Zentrale Datenhaltung
  • Finanzierung durch Werbung

Mit VertiGIS eGuide agieren Sie schneller als mit der klassischen Plakatwand und rüsten sich für den Weg in die Zukunft, der Smart City.

Digitale, interaktive Karte

Anhand einer interaktiven Karte können lokale Standortinformationen angezeigt und gesucht werden. Diese Informationen lassen sich in Kategorien übersichtlich darstellen und mit beliebigen Daten wie Öffnungszeiten, Bildern, Videos oder auch QR-Codes hinterlegen. Die Berechnung des Fusswegs vom Standort zum gewünschten Ziel und die Übernahme der Informationen auf Mobilgeräte rundet die Information ab.

Lokale Informationen

Auf der Startseite können beliebige Informationen wie Veranstaltungshinweise, Quartierinformationen, Notfallanweisungen usw. angezeigt werden. Bürger und Besucher können sich über Angebote informieren, diese Informationen auf ihr Mobilgerät übertragen und sich mobil führen lassen.

Die Integration von Echtzeitinformationen aus dem Internet wie z.B. Abfahrtszeiten des öffentlichen Nahverkehres oder Wetterinformationen und auch das Anzeigen von Videos ist möglich. Die Inhalte können in kürzester Zeit gewechselt werden. Somit können aktuelle Informationen am POI (Point of Information) und POS (Point of Sale) jederzeit aktualisiert dargestellt werden.

Interaktive Nutzung

Die Software wurde für Touchscreens entwickelt. Damit ist eine einfache und intuitive Bedienung über die Berührung mit der Hand und ein visuelles und interaktives Erlebnis gegeben. Als Endgeräte können grossformatige Stelen im oder aber auch handelsübliche Touchscreen-Computer z.B. in der Hotel-Lobby verwendet werden.

Mehrsprachigkeit und Barrierefreiheit

Sind die lokalen Informationen über mehrere Sprachen verfügbar, kann die Sprache mit VertiGIS eGuide umgestellt werden.
Die Anwendung bietet eine Möglichkeit für die Bedienung auf einer eingeschränkten Höhe, so dass auch Personen mit körperlichen Beeinträchtigungen die Anwendung gut nutzen können.

Zentrale Datenhaltung und Effiziente Nachführung

VertiGIS eGuide verwaltet die Daten in einem zentralen Managementsystem, das eine Nutzung auf verschiedenen Medien (Infostelen, Webseite, usw.) ermöglicht. Die Inhalte können in einer web-basierten Anwendung händisch gepflegt oder über REST-Schnittstellen von anderen Systemen aus nachgeführt werden. Die räumlichen Informationen stehen für weitere Anwendungen wie Ortspläne, Apps, gedruckte Karten usw. bereit.

VertiGIS eGuide hält die Daten – wenn möglich – offline bereit. Damit ist VertiGIS eGuide äusserst performant und auch bei einem Unterbruch des Netzwerks jederzeit bereit.

Finanzierung durch Werbung

Auf der einen Seite wird digitale Werbung gespielt, auf der anderen Seite befindet sich VertiGIS eGuide mit einem interaktiven Stadtplan mit den lokalen Informationen. Mit unserem Partner Clear Channel ist die Kombination einer Finanzierung der Infrastruktur und des Betriebs von der interaktiven Auskunft im öffentlichen Bereich mit Werbung möglich.